Université de Lyon

University of LyonInternational Alliance of the Community of Universities and Institutions

Jean Monnet University Saint-Étienne is one of the 12 member institutions of the “University of Lyon” Community of Universities and Institutions. As such, it participates in the various actions and initiatives of the University of Lyon. Among them is the International Alliance.

The International Alliance of the University of Lyon aims to create an integrated research and training area. It aims in particular to develop and facilitate student and staff mobility as well as encourage collaboration in research. It is made up of universities spread over 5 target geographical areas. They have been selected for the strong links and scientific dynamism they share with the institutions of the University of Lyon.

The International Alliance partner institutions are as follows:

  • the University of São Paulo in Brazil
  • the Universities of Ottawa, Sherbrooke and Polytechnique Montréal in Canada
  • East China Normal University and Fudan, Jiao Tong and Tongji Universities, all four based in Shanghai
  • the Universities of Tokyo and Tohoku in Japan
  • the University of Turin, the Polytechnic Schools of Turin and Milan in Europe.
  • The “Europe” strategy of the International Alliance also includes Switzerland, since the University Conference of Western Switzerland and the University of Geneva participate in this Alliance.