UJM affiliates with The European University Transform4Europe

Jean Monnet University Saint-Étienne affiliates with The European University Transform4Europe

During its executive board meeting on November 9, 2022, in Saarbrücken (Germany), the European University Transform4Europe formalized its affiliation with Jean Monnet University Saint-Étienne (UJM) which joined the consortium as a full member, alongside the Catholic University of Portugal, and the University of Primorska in Slovenia. Mariupol State University in Ukraine is also hosted as an associated institution.

By joining Transform4Europe, UJM affirms its European perspective, paving the way for new sustainable cooperation in training and research

Transform4Europe, part of the second wave of European universities labeled in 2020, initially brought together 7 members: Saarland University in Germany (coordinating institution), Silesia University in Katowice (Poland), Alicante University (Spain), Trieste University (Italy), Sofia University "St.  Kliment Ohridski" (Bulgaria), Vytautas Magnus University in Kaunas (Lithuania) and The Estonian Academy of Arts in Tallinn.

The expansion of Transform4Europe is a result of European Commission’s fourth call for proposals to support European university alliances. The project, which will be submitted in January 2023 by the Transform4Europe consortium, aims at integrating new establishments, but moreover, introducing a new organization and increasing collaboration between members with shared objectives.

Link to the press release on the website www. Transform4Europe.eu


Transform4Europe: a European vision and ambition to respond to societal transformations

The European University Transform4Europe wants to develop institutional and strategic cooperation in training and research, based on shared values and principles. Transform4Europe structures its initiatives around the challenges linked to major transformations in society that require new entrepreneurial, digital and intercultural skills, by creating a European interregional ecosystem of knowledge and innovation.

The members of the European University Transform4Europe are all committed to developing an inclusive and sustainable, multi-campus, European University, with mobility programs for students (from their 1st year to doctorate level) and primarily, for staff. Other goals include innovative teaching practices and the development of entrepreneurship initiatives, as well as a common language policy aimed at enhancing the languages and cultures of the territories they represent.


Jean Monnet University, European University

As a full member of the Transform4Europe European University program, Jean Monnet University's commitment is based on its history and will consolidate its already well-established European and international initiatives. Indeed, UJM is now positioned amongst the top 10 European universities coordinating Erasmus Mundus master's degrees, and in 3rd place in France (source The European Education and Culture Executive Agency - EACEA).  The university has solid experience of implementing and participating in European and international projects in both training and research.

In addition to the expected development of European mobility, multilingualism and joint training, its active participation in Transform4Europe will enable UJM to develop sustainable institutional partnerships with multidisciplinary universities with which UJM shares common characteristics and ambitions. UJM also has a clear vision of the role of universities and their relations with the territories and all socio-economic, cultural and artistic backgrounds form a central part of its strategy.

Publié le 22 novembre 2022